Frequently Asked Questions
A. To qualify to take a teen driver ed course (32 hours), you must be at least 14 years old. You can drive with a restricted license at 16. Those 18-24 must take a six hour adult driver ed course.
A. After completion of the six hour adult driver education class you may take the permit test and upon passing with a score of 70 or above, you will receive a certificate to take to the DPS to apply for your permit to drive with a licensed driver over 21 (LOFS.)
A. You must have court approval before taking the course and a class reservation for ticket dismissal. By contacting the court prior to taking your class, you may prevent delays or added expenses. Most courts give 90 days from that time to complete the course and return your Uniform Certificate of Completion to the court.
A. The Uniform Certificate of Completion is normally put in the mail within three to five days after course completion for ticket dismissal. Rush delivery is available for a fee. We will do all we can to get your certificate to you as soon as possible.
If you have taken the course for insurance only, you will receive your certificate at the end of the course on the very same day!
NEXT DAY DELIVERY: If you have taken the course for ticket dismissal and wish to rush your Uniform Certificate of Completion, for $10 extra, it is put into the U.S. mail within 24 hours . Next day courier service is available for $25 ( Mon-Friday.)
A. To confirm your reservation, you may email us at email@example.com or call us at 817-731-0200 . Students must show a valid picture ID (drivers license, employee or school ID) and pay at the door cash, check or charge. You must know whether your ticket was issued from a city or county court and the name of that city or county if you are taking the class for ticket dismissal.
A. Yes. First Class Defensive Driving has been approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, the agency responsible for licensing driving safety courses in the State of Texas. The Department of Licensing and Regulation can be contacted at 512-919-5313. FCDD Course Provider License number is CP661.
A. This course may qualify you for a discount on your automobile insurance, up to 10% and it is good for THREE years! Please check with your insurance agent - most insurance companies give the discount.
A. We try to have a notary available at each class for your convenience. Cost is $5 per notary.
A. What you do with your certificate will depend on your reason(s) for taking the course. If you are taking the course for traffic ticket dismissal, follow the instructions provided by the court issuing the ticket. If you are taking the course to receive a discount on your automobile insurance, mail the certificate for insurance discount to your insurance company. Be sure to keep a copy for your records.
A. If you take a driving safety class to receive an insurance discount and later receive a traffic ticket, you are permitted by Texas law to take another class to dismiss the ticket.
A. Texas state law allows you to dismiss one traffic ticket per year per class. Additional classes may be taken with court approval. Just ask the court. They almost always say yes. Also, those 25 and under must take a course to dismiss every moving violation received. The court allows multiple classes for these drivers.